Subway Challenge Logo

The SUBWAY® Challenge became part of the FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby in 2015. The event takes place over two days during race-week and only Local champs are eligible to compete. The event is a single elimination, three phase race where champs race in all three lanes, swapping wheels after each phase from a special wheel bank. The champ with the best time after three phases advances to the next round of competition. One division (Masters) will be competing on Tuesday, July 12 and two divisions (Stock and Super Stock) will be competing on Wednesday, July 13. Three champions will be crowned over those two days and they will receive their trophies at the FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby Awards Ceremony on Saturday, July 16 at 7 p.m. at EJ Thomas Performing Arts Hall on the campus of The University of Akron.

Re Sized Subway Challenge Photo

Final results
Super Stock



Tuesday, July 12
9:30 a.m. - Local Masters 

Wednesday, July 13
8 a.m. - Local Super Stock
11 a.m. - Local Stock

SUBWAY® Challenge Champions
Stock - Julia Irving, Arlington, Mass.
Super Stock - Victor LaRose, Youngstown, Ohio
Masters - Joshua Ostrander, Chicago, Ill.